Skip to content

Summer Time…

July 19, 2011

Oh, I’m loving summer time!  I hate the heat – can’t stand to be hot!  But as I walked out on the deck after dark to bring in the laundry (who doesn’t love the smell of line-dried laundry??), it was still hot and steamy out.  I took a minute to listen to the sounds of summer time…

Cicadas chirping somewhere in the dark…

That bullfrog who lives somewhere nearby croaking his heart out…

The sounds of nameless other bugs talking – like a party line!

I love hearing my dogs race through the house when they come inside.  It’s even funnier when I hear one of them bang into the kitchen cabinets!  (Sorry, Libby!)

I love hearing sprinklers running and the smell of wet grass…

I love the smell of freshly-mown grass, even though I can’t sit on it!  I’d love to be able to sit on the grass and stare up at the night sky, but in the South you have to be careful of fire ants!  And I break out in a rash when I sit directly on the grass, so…

I’m so happy it’s summer!  We have very, very late dinners and even later bedtimes.  We sleep in.  We are more relaxed.  Schedules, smedules.  Most everything goes right out the window.  Seems like it’s easier to get things done, too.

I love summer.  But I’m still looking forward to fall.  It’s God showing His constant presence.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

