Skip to content

Divorce Etiquette…

February 12, 2011

Tonight, I ran into a precious friend at the store.  We’ve been friends since our oldest kids were in 3rd grade, so it’s been almost 10 years.  It’s been a fun friendship – her oldest & my son are about 2 weeks apart in age, and our younger ones are one week apart!  We never ran out of things to talk about, even though we grew up in different geographical areas and have differing thoughts on faith.  Our relationship has been pretty thin these past couple of years – we were just both busy – she went back to school, I had my own business and now work and homeschool.

Monday, Valentine’s Day, her divorce will be final.  And I don’t know what to say.

I never really know what to say in situations where someone’s life is changing like that.  Either with the death of a spouse or a divorce.  I know my job is just to be there and to listen with a whole heart, but I’d still like to be able to SAY something!  Or DO something!!!

I KNOW what to do when my other dear friend has issues with her husband.  Most of her issues are things I either have dealt with or am currently dealing with.  I KNOW what that’s about.  But I’m lost (fortunately) in matters of death and divorce.

What do you say during those times?  I just want to be there for my friends, but being me, am not confident enough in myself to step up and do what needs to be done.  Help!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

