Skip to content

My Middle Brother…

July 16, 2010

Kelly asked for a “Single Guys” post – here’s mine….

My brother, J, is the middle boy in a family of me and 3 brothers.  He is the brother that takes time to call me and send me texts, even though I hate texting (no qwerty keyboard!).  He sends me jokes and updates his Facebook  so I can keep up with him even though we live 3 hours apart.  He loves to travel and have fun.  He’s very social – which is strange considering he was a quiet kid.  I think maybe joining the Army pulled him out of his shell.  He’s my kids’ favorite uncle – loves kids, but doesn’t have any himself.  He’s divorced, but he would like to meet a nice girl.  He’s going to go back to school to become a radiation therapist – probably in oncology.  I’m very proud of him for doing this.  He’s been a sheriff’s deputy for a number of years, but going back to school to pursue a new goal takes guts and faith.  I wish he could move in with my family while he goes back to school, but the 3 hour travel time to school would be a negative 🙂  Plus having my own kid in college at the same time might be something I never recover from!  And I truly don’ t have the space.  But it would be fun.  He has goals – right now he’s decided to participate in a triathlon this fall.  I’m rooting for him!  (Told him my goal for finishing a triathlon involves me not dying!)

Looking like the Terminator...He likes to ride his motorcycle.  He asked last spring if my daughter & I wanted to watch the shuttle launch with him.  It wasn’t a good time for us scholastically, so we said we’d wait until September or November.  He went anyway with a friend.  They arrived at a little park where you can see the launches and thought, “Wow, we’re early!”*  They set up their chairs and started to wait.  An older couple came up to them some time later and asked if they were waiting for the launch.  The guys said “Yes” and the couple told them the launch was the NEXT DAY!  I was really glad we didn’t get to go!  It will be a story we will tell for a while — get your dates straight!  But J does spontaneous things like that.  He’ll get an idea and just do it.  It may not always be the best idea, but he has fun with it.  I plan too much and then get mad when things don’t work out.  He just goes with the flow.

He’s over 6′ (can’t remember how tall – all my brothers are 6’1″ and over), blue eyes and dimples.  He’s 35.   He has a warped sense of humor.  He is a great listener.  He’s a great big guy and a great guy period.  I would love for him to meet a girl who can appreciate him for who he is.  And if I got a sister-in-law I could have fun with and talk with, that would be a bonus!  (Since I have no bio sisters :()

* Disclaimer – I wasn’t there and can’t remember exactly how it went, but it was pretty much like I tell it.  He might disagree….

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    July 16, 2010 11:15 am

    Send your cute brother up to MN 🙂 The dimples kill me!

    From a single 32-year old girl up north

  2. July 16, 2010 11:38 am

    Hey there! I’m guessing y’all are in Florida? I may be too young or too far away, or perhaps just not compatible but maybe not, who knows. 🙂 I’m a 26 yr. old accountant in Northeast Mississippi am a total family girl and just love to laugh and love people. (In a completely appropriate way of course!) 😉

    If you want more info you can visit my blog and comment or email me at rebekah.hebert (at) gmail.com

  3. Katie permalink
    July 16, 2010 11:42 am

    He’s a cutie! I’m a 26 year old Arkansas girl, 5’3, labor and delivery nurse 🙂 you can pass on the email!

    • Golden permalink
      July 19, 2010 1:20 pm

      Hey Katie,
      I have a couple single guys in their 20’s here. I’m in NWArkansas. You should look them up on facebook. Aaron Levy and Jonathan McCreary.
      Thanks! (worth a shot, right? 🙂

  4. July 16, 2010 12:11 pm

    What is his location?

  5. Noelle Heinrich permalink
    July 16, 2010 5:32 pm

    I’m 38 SWF HR professional in the DC metro area (NoVA). (I look younger than my age.) He is a cutie and tall too! I’m 5’8″. A sense of humor is important to me and spontaneous sense of adventure! Please feel free to pass on my email address to him, I’m happy to provide a photo. 🙂

  6. Kelley permalink
    July 16, 2010 9:04 pm

    Your brother sounds like a genuine, wonderful guy! I’d love to learn more about him! I am a 33 yr old single girl (I guess 33 makes me a woman, but I still like the sound of “girl”). I live in North Carolina and love playing with my dog, Paris, hanging out with my niece and nephew (2 & 3 yrs old), love to play games with my Sis and best friends, etc. I love the Lord, love my church and church family (I sing in the choir, work with the youth, work with the women’s ministries, etc.) and just love life!

    I don’t know how this will work out, but I’d be interested in learning more about your brother, who seems to have a great sense of humor and a great sister!

    Oh, I work in IT (Business Systems Analyst) at a local financial institution.
    Take care,
    Kelley

  7. July 16, 2010 10:00 pm

    Your brother sounds like a great guy. But, there is one important question a good Southern girl has to ask…is he an SEC sport fan?

    • July 16, 2010 10:11 pm

      Haha! I don’t know! Our house is – Go Gamecocks! (Or anyone else in the SEC as long as they’re not playing the Cocks!)

  8. July 16, 2010 10:34 pm

    Hmmmm. My sister told me I should check this blog out as she was told she was “pimping me out”. Not such a bad thing for a single guy I guess. Her story about the shuttle launch is pretty much the way it happened. She did fail to mention that it was about a 5 hour drive, one way.
    Mostly, I’m concentrating on my degree now. College wasn’t something I was prepared for when I got out of high school and have had a few road blocks preventing me from returning before now. So although I do LOVE being the occasional center of attention for women, right now I’m concentrating on my classes. I feel that it wouldn’t be fair to me or any one else for anything other than casual dating for the next several years. Afterwards, I’ll go where ever the career takes me and settle down there.
    Shannon- I don’t really follow sports. I’ll sit down with friends and watch a game or even go to one but I’d rather play instead.
    Noelle- The tallest I think I’ve ever dated was maybe 5’5″, I’d certainly like to find someone who’s athletic and can keep me on my goals (and vice versa) and go racing with me.
    Kelley- You’re a girl as long as you want to be! Don’t ever let anyone put any extra maturity on you that you don’t want. You can grow old, but you don’t have to grow up!
    Katie- Nurses are hot!
    Elizabeth- Thank you!
    Rebekah- Yeah, NE MS is a bit far away,,,,and banjos scare me!
    Emily- already answered.

  9. Chanda permalink
    July 18, 2010 9:07 pm

    He sounds like a great catch! Nice pic, too. I actually just returned home tonight from a weekend in Savannah and Tybee Island with some girlfriends. I live just outside of Atlanta. I am a 34 yr old gal who works in Human Resources. I’d love to meet J, we have lots in common!

  10. Kristina permalink
    July 21, 2010 4:02 pm

    Well I saw this post and thought I would reply even though you said you were concentrating on school. I am 34 and currently living in PA about an hour outside of Philly. I am currently in school as well. When I finished high school I wasn’t really sure where I wanted to go with things so I took some time off and pursued some other stuff. I ended doing some missionary work for a couple of years and worked some as well. I feel like I am supposed to work in the counseling field so after finishing up my bachelors in Pysch thinks past May I am now working my Masters in Social Work. When I am not busy with school I enjoy spending time with my two nephews. I also work with the high school youth group at my church. I totally understand needing to concentrate on school work but maybe we could just be friends! I would love to talk some more if you are interests as well please email me. shrommy at homail dot com

  11. August 3, 2010 11:44 pm

    debbie said…

    HI,
    I love that Kelly did this and would like to suggest he take a look at my friend’s blog where she just posted pictures of a family visit with their daughter Amy(27) Amy is in Birmingham Alabama, and works with Student Life Ministry. She is one of the most lovely, fun girls we have ever met. She is getting ready to complete her master’s degree as well
    here is the blog address for my friend…
    http://whatmattersmost-carol.blogspot.com. Amy can be e-mailed at aharlan@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

