Skip to content

Everyone has a first time……

April 1, 2010

to do something, anyway. This is my first ever blog.

I am a very “streams-of-consciousness” type writer, and have been accused of being easily distracted, so expect rabbit trails. Hmmmm…. maybe I should’ve called the blog “Following the Rabbit Trail.” Anyhoo, Life in the Swamp. There’s a well-known movie about ogres and fairy tales – you know which ones I’m talking about – and I find that there are 2 metaphors for me there (at least for now). The first one is this: I’m an ogre (you know, ugly and lonely) when I’m not in the Light. I realize that if I’m not walking with Jesus, I’m ugly inside and that’s not how I want to be. Who wants to be ugly and lonely? When I’m IN the Light, and walking with Jesus, I’m loved and beautiful and never alone. The second metaphor is this: even though I may be ugly full-time (like the princess ogre ended up), Jesus still loves me, green skin and all.

I am married to another ogre, with hopes of one day both of us being in a fairy-tale marriage. Right now, however, we’re in the swamp. Mucking it out, day after day. It’s really hard, walking through a swamp. But one day we will move to the castle and live happily ever after. More on that later.

We have two ogre kids, ages 17 & 11. One of each, thank you. The 17 year old is graduating high school in June and the 11 year old is a 5th grader – homeschooled by yours truly. Speaking of which, I have to get back to today’s lessons. We are dragging today!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

